SolarPower Europe: New president and board members


Following the Board elections of SolarPower Europe on 26 March, held remotely, Aristotelis Chantavas, Head of Europe for Enel Green Power, has been elected as the new President of the association, replacing the outgoing Christian Westermeier from Wacker Chemie.

Commenting on the outcome, Walburga Hemetsberger, CEO of SolarPower Europe, said: “We are delighted that Aristotelis Chantavas has been elected President of SolarPower Europe, and are confident that he will continue the excellent work of the association, leading us through an essential period for solar power in Europe. Mr Chantavas’ vast experience as Head of Europe for Enel Green Power, one of the largest European players in renewables, makes him well-equipped to position solar as the primary energy technology in the transition.” Hemetsberger added: “I would also like to thank Christian Westermeier for his leadership as President over the ast years”.

President Chantavas said: “It is an honor to lead the Board of SolarPower Europe at this crucial time, as the European Green Deal represents a unique opportunity to promote the role of solar power in the European energy market. The association will reinforce its relationship with European institutions, so as to ensure that solar plays a key role in the Green Deal framework, empowering innovative technologies and shared know-how to accelerate the energy transition.”

Two Vice Presidents were also elected, Jochen Hauff from BayWa r.e. and Christian Westermeier from Wacker Chemie. Vincenzo Costanzelli from Trina Solar and three new directors were elected to the board, including Alexandra Sombsthay from Akuo Energy, Jörg Ebel from IBC Solar and Martin Hackl from Fronius International.


Leave A Reply