E.ON Energie Romania opened the 15th station within the NEXT-E project


E.ON Energie Romania opened this week the 15th station within the NEXT-E project, said Dragoș Negruțu, director of the E.On Drive Division.

“Today we have put into operation the 15th station out of the 19 that we have the obligation to install, within the NEXT-E project,” he said.

In February, the company will open the 16th station and until the middle of 2020 other three will be inaugurated.

“So far we have registered a total charging of about 20 MW, which would amount to 100,000 km covered by electric vehicles,” added Negruțu.

All 40 NEXT-E stations (of which 19 will be installed by E.ON and 21 by MOL Romania) will be located on the following routes: Suceava-Bacau-Calarasi, Constanta-Bucharest-Timisoara and Iasi-Tirgu Mures-Alba Iulia. With this initiative, the charging station infrastructure for electric vehicles for the European strategic road corridors (TEN-T) will be completed with the infrastructure of charging stations for e-vehicles in Romania, facilitating low-CO2 transport by road and reduced environmental impact.

Stations will be integrated into a system for monitoring and managing the charging sessions. This system provides 24-hour supervision of the unit and has the ability to remotely resolve any incidents occurring during charging. Additionally, any problems encountered at the charging stations can be notified 24/7 by telephone at a E.ON call center.

In July 2017, the NEXT-E project was selected by the European Commission for co-financing through the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF). The NEXT-E consortium will receive EUR 18.84 million to implement the project, this being the largest ECF funding for a project on electric vehicles. Within this program, by 2020, 222 multi-standard (50 kW) fast charging stations and 30 ultra-fast (150-350 kW) charging stations will be installed along the main corridors European transport network and the trans-European transport network (TEN-T). As an absolute premiere, long distance travel, 100% based on electricity, will be possible in six Member States with links to neighboring countries.

The Consortium consists of companies from the E.ON Group (Zapadoslovenská energetika in Slovakia, E.ON Czech Republic, E.ON Hungary, E.ON Romania), MOL Group (subsidiaries from the six participating countries), Hrvatska elektroprivreda from Croatia, PETROL (in Slovenia and Croatia) as well as Nissan and BMW.


About Author

Bogdan Tudorache

Leave A Reply